One hundred days. When did this ‘benchmark’ become a thing? Looking back at my own career; and all the interviews I’ve attended, I’ve stated that – at maximum – I can get up to speed in ninety days. If I couldn’t, then I was not right for the job. In actuality, I’ve only had one job that took about sixty days. All the rest I’ve learned in thirty.

But politics is different, it’s own microcosm, a separate reality. Academia and religion have a similar set of views that ordinary lives don’t experience. Standard business has a basic reality; earn/loss, sometimes a win-win. But, the rule is, follow the money. Pretty darn simple. So, why does a person well versed in business want to apply the rules of one reality onto another?

And then, the doofus-in-Command (the diC*) {* – always a small ‘d’} makes this statement about the Constitution:

“It’s a very rough system,” he said. “It’s an archaic system … It’s really a bad thing for the country.”

Wha..? Who..? WTF?!

images

Seriously? Over the past two years, we – as a planet – have heard innumerable ignorant statements issued from his lips. This one boggles the mind. It is so outrageous, so utterly devoid of logical thought – much less sentient intelligence – any mammal of this planet would look at him and wonder if he knew how to wipe his ass.

It’s one thing to have an opinion, and his words may be just that. BUT. He said some other words just a couple of months ago, that would now seem contradictory.

2017 Presidential Inauguration

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

With those words, Donald J. Trump took the oath of office on January 20, 2017, to formally become the 45th President of the United States.

A couple of related thoughts: the definition of perjury. I chose not to copy it into here for conservation of space. But (my own interpretation of the wiki), suggests that perjury has occurred. I went further into the basis links, mens rea and actus rea. I could be accused of ‘cherry picking’, but an average person, if they exist anymore, would conclude that Mr. Trump has indeed committed perjury, and has met the requirements under both reas. The other thought was on: High Crimes and Misdemeanors. Given the last round of Impeachment talk batted about in the Great, Stupid Swamp, I don’t expect much to come of my observations. My last thought on the subject is: change. The people voted for someone who was going to effect change, change in the way government operated. That’s all the ‘people’ wanted; they knew only the broad headline – nobody knew, or even looked for the small print.

From a businessman’s perspective, when you want to change the method of operation, you have the ability to scrap any and all rules on how you operate. From a politician’s perspective, you have to compromise to get things accomplished. Only very slowly can a politician change the rules. At least that’s the way it’s worked in the past. I can see one problem working under these assumptions; if a business fails, you can usually start another one. What happens when a government fails?  

