Even though the USA does not have an official language, American English is the de facto language for conducting state business. And if I’m not mistaken, the citizenship test is given only primarily in American English (on checking the USCIS.gov website, there are special exemptions based on age/residency – for the oral test, you get to bring an interpreter).

My gripe with this sign is based on the understanding that anyone allowed to vote has a rudimentary knowledge of American English. There are three, not English, languages on the sign. I’ve been to enough other countries that I know, to be naturalized there, I have to be able to speak/understand the language to some extent. Certainly enough to be able to vote there. I’m not stating that English be the only language. I have no problem having two languages (English/Spanish). But more?

