Just finished shifting some of my novel writing into Microsoft OneNote. Pretty neat freebie app which may replace a couple others that I’ve been using. Only gripe I have is that it doesn’t have word count. Not that it should matter, but when working on a story, word counts matter. The other problem I have with the app is accessibility from alternate devices. If you have the latest version of Windows, no problem. Anything else, no good. They should have included a web-based usage option with a local file save.

What is extraordinarily useful is the amount of files I can have on hand. I moved all my chapters – from five works in progress – into OneNote.  Now, when I have a creative block, I just switch over into another story line (or write up a new blog post).

Which takes me back to this post’s title. I’m watching TV while writing this and I’m critiquing the writing of a couple shows (Rizzoli & Isles and Zoo). The cop show is pretty standard, but it’s the banter that get you involved with the characters, like on NCIS. On the other hand, Zoo tries to get you involved in the premise, based from the book ( which I haven’t read). As of yet, I’m not too involved with the show. Which means the network could cancel it and I wouldn’t be concerned.

And then I look at my writing. Amateurish, sure. Like any other wannabe, I can use an editor or some beta readers. Free would be nice, but you get what you pay for. When all is said and done, I have to remind myself that I write first and foremost, for myself. If others like what they read, great – spread the word.

Thanks for listening. Going to look for, yet another, story line I started.

