Yet another potentially useful social app bites the dust. I have a LinkedIn
account. Its primary purpose is to keep me connected with people/companies that I have either worked for, or would like to work for. In that respect, it is useful to a point, providing business focused access to like minded individuals. Where it fails is in keeping connections with my ‘network’ who do not wish to join LinkedIn

20140722-194921-71361421.jpg, Facebook 20140722-195119-71479632.jpg, or other social networks.

The app sends occasional emails to me with links to articles that are related to my business interest. So far, so good. Added to my other methods of acquiring information, the slush pile increases.

What incites me to write this blurb was a specific article I read this morning.

Now, I’ve been working for tech companies for quite awhile. I’ve seen management trends come, go, and be totally trashed and humiliated. 20140722-201658-73018094.jpgWhenever a new one comes along, my BS shields raise, and I wait to see if the trend gains traction. This article tries to introduce a new meme, the next must-have trend: Visionary Predictor.

Out of eleven paragraphs, four use a variant of the phrase ‘what I’ve coined’. A couple other statements are of the ‘I’ve done this’ variety. Now, I did not have to read this ‘article’, but the title was catchy, ‘Forget Lean and Agile – It’s Time to be Anticipatory’. (Note that I included the link at the beginning, but I do not endorse it.)

It’s one thing to self-promote. everyone does it to some extent, even ascetics. 20140722-201901-73141054.jpg

It appears to be quite another level to introduce ‘new’ buzzwords simply to become the next buzzword guru, feeding the self-promotion monkey.

The danger of this, coming from a self-described futurist, is akin to being a follower of Nostradamus. 20140722-202014-73214994.jpgThe leader aims for a target you cannot see, preparing for an eventuality that exists only in belief. Pied Piper.
20140722-202244-73364501.jpgAnd does his very best to draft more acolytes to the vision. Building a brand. Selling aids to instruct the masses. Until the ‘next big thing’ comes along.

Unfortunately, the rest of the business world is slower to adjust to the next big thing. It’s simply physics; a small particle requires a small influence to affect change; a larger item (a company or industry) requires either a tremendous influence to change direction or time.

The negative effect of buzzwords, and their conclusively limited shelf life is reflected in present-day employment requisitions. Multi-task begat bleeding edge, which begat low-hanging fruit which begat value-added, which begat Six-Sigma, which begat SOA, Agile and Scrum, which begat The Cloud, which begat Visionary and Anticipatory. And they were all blessed as good by the business futurists. For a speaking fee, of course.
20140722-202416-73456985.jpg

