Thinking about my recent visit to a new medical provider just shows me, what I don’t know – I can’t ask about. Awhile back (ten years plus) I had one provider that I was satisfied with. Short distance from the house, very astute service, etc.  Then I moved, requiring a new primary MD. On leaving the first provider, I requested copies of my medical record (and that of my family). They charged me $150 for some putz to stand at a photocopier to do this.  Now, another ten years have passed and I find myself going through similar motions. I haven’t tried to collect my records, mainly due to getting my own copy whenever I have something done. It seems that if you create a copy at point of service, there’s usually no charge. Although there may be a problem with the new provider ingesting the old data. Stay tuned for further comments.

